Getting Lucky With the Art Museums

March 3, 2010 at 9:30 pm | Posted in 80's, mp3, Music | 3 Comments
Tags: ,

When I bought the Art Museums‘ Rough Frame that came out on Woodsist a few weeks ago, the record store clerk asked me what it sounded like.  I gave her a blank stare, a shrug and told her I had no idea.  The record had caught my attention with it’s cover art.  I plucked it from the bin and  then saw that their name was the Art Museums and that it was on Woodsist.  The stars had seemingly aligned for a purchase of something I had never heard before.

I brought it home, plopped it on the turntable and was aghast at my good luck.  A band that seemed immersed in the Flying Nun and Creation catalogs from the early 80’s, some Television Personalities and the psych rock jems Tobin Sprout use to pepper Guided by Voices albums.  This album was evidently designed specifically to make a nostalgia obsessed old guy like myself happy and content to know that they still can make records like they use to.

After doing a little research I found out that this record just didn’t appear out of nowhere.  The duo Josh Alper (Whysp) and Glenn Donaldson (Skygreen Leopards, Blithe Sons, Teenage Panzerkorps) got together last year in San Francisco and recorded it using vintage 80’s analog equipment to keep the vibe totally authentic.  The album is a short nine songs, but there are another two songs to come in the form of a 7″ single due on Woodsist later this year. Here’s to my good luck, I’m off to buy a lottery ticket.

mp3: Art Museums – Sculpture Gardens

Order up your copy of Rough Frame over at Woodsist, and get a preview of the upcoming single in the form of this video.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. excellent video, hard to go wrong in a monkey suit tho.

    • Yeah, I know what you mean. Citizen Kane would have been a even better if they all would have worn monkey suites in it.

  2. [...] some really great stuff written about this lovely pop duo over at The Finest Kiss [...]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers