Safe From Any Distance: Radiation City

March 24, 2011 at 9:24 pm | Posted in Music, PDX | Leave a comment
Tags:

This morning I was looking for something to listen on my mp3 player. Scrolling through, I came across Radiation City.  “Who the hell were they?” I thought to myself, and How did it get there? I must have put the record there at some point because I liked it since I don’t normally put stuff onto my mp3 player that I don’t like. So, having confidence in my former taste and none in my long-term memory I dialed it up and listened. No less than 30 seconds into the first song Babies everything came rushing back (note to loved ones: in the event I’m ever in a coma play music from my formative teenage years to bring me back to consciousness).
Portland’s Radiation City are a brand new band but their album The Hands That Take You sounds so well formed that you’d be forgiven for mistaking them for old pros. These rookies have employed impeccable taste to constructed a record that is spacious and cinematic in scope. Singer Lizzy Ellison has an icy cool voice that reminds me of of Trish Keenan or Golfrapp but can also get a bit soulful and conjure a little Dusty Springfield too. The songs have a retro 60’s feel to them that is part sunshiny innocence like the Free Design and part steely sci-fi that Broadcast use to excell at.  It’s so authentic that a couple of the songs with their lethargic horns and wobbly synths sound like they got Peter Thomas in the studio to record with them.   If you dig the current sounds of Still Corners, Soda Shop, and Widowspeak then Radiation City has a moody little gem for you.

mp3: Radiation City – Babies (The Hands That Take You is currently available on Cassette.  Their Facebook page says vinyl is on the way soon.)

Radiation City play Seattle next Friday, April 1st. Here are all the dates of their west coast tour:
Apr 1st – COLUMBIA CITY THEATER, SEATTLE, WA
Apr 22nd – SIRENS, PORT TOWNSEND, WA
Apr 24th – RONTOMS (FREE SHOW), PORTLAND, OR
Apr 25th – THE ALIBI, ARCATA, CA
Apr 26th – THE HEMLOCK TAVERN, SAN FRANCISCO, CA
May 1st – SODA BAR,SAN DIEGO, CA
May 4th – SILVERLAKE LOUNGE,LOS ANGELES, CA
May 5th – HOUSE SHOW, SAN FRANCISCO, CA
May 7th – ANIMAL HOUSE,SACRAMENTO, CA

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 144 other followers