Highbrow

July 20, 2006 at 4:42 am | Posted in New Music | Leave a comment

finearts.jpg

I think Parasol first introduced me to Gustaf Kjellvander and his band the Fine Arts Showcase. I get their weekly updates via email and either the blurb or the cover art caught my eye, I can’t remember which one. I think it said something like, “one of the best records of the year, and it’s only february”. Usually I don’t pay attention to a record store telling me that, so it must have been the cover art.

Essentially the band is Gustaf, who writes all of the songs and plays most of music. Radiola is his second full length under this moniker (Side Show Bob being the other). He’s a Swede, that lived in Seattle the first 12 years of his life, and he’s got a pension for American indie rock that is fully evident on Radiola (Check out his K records pin on the cover! He wears his influences like a badge.). If you like East River Pipe, but wish he would upgrade his equipment and had a warmer voice then you should check out Radiola.

The Swedish-centric blog Swedesplease featured FAS a while back. So if you go there you can hear the song Chemical Girl. Sorry no mp3’s here, I’m a low rent blog.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.