Ten New Ones from the Rakes

The RakesThe Rakes, one of my favorite new bands from last couple of years have a new record coming out 19 March in the UK, and hopefully sometime not too much later here in the US. It’s called Ten New Messages. and is produced Jim Abiss (Arctic Monkey’s, Editors, Kasabian) and Brendan Lynch (Primal Scream). The first single , We Danced Together will see the light of day a week prior. And as things go these days, it’s likely the entire record will see the light of day before 19 March.

Something of a teaser or stop-gap, I don’t know, LA label Dim Mak is putting out a Rakes Remix record on 20 February containing a bunch of remixes from the band’s excellent debut, Capture/Release. The Remixes track listing goes as such:

1. Open Book (Uncle Buck Remix)
2. Binary Love (Loving Hands/Tim Goldsworthy Remix)
3. We Are All Animals (Statik Remix)
4. 22 Grand Job (Filthy Dukes Remix)
5. Work, Work, Work (Weird Science Remix)

While the track listing for Ten New Messages looks like this:

1. The World Was a Mess But His Hair Was Perfect
2. Little Superstitions
3. We Danced Together
4. Trouble
5. Suspicious Eyes
6. On a Mission
7. Down With Moonlight
8. When Tom Cruise Cries
9. Time to Stop Talking
10. Leave The City and Come Home

When Tom Cruise Cries!? Wonder what that’s all about?

Update: No mpthree of the new single here, but I saw that the band has put it up on their myspace page.


  1. Robertco · January 21, 2007

    Will this make my Tom Cruise stocks on trendio rise? http://www.trendio.com/word.php?language=en&wordid=1162

  2. bill p · February 5, 2007

    it has seen the light of day. and it’s good… though not much of a change-of-course.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s