Sugarcube

May 5, 2007 at 9:40 pm | Posted in Ida Maria, Music | 4 Comments

Ida Maria knows something you don’t.Ida Maria nearly steals the show when she sings on I Love You, You Imbecile with Pelle Carlberg  on his new record.  This 22 year old Swede/Norwegian has got a voice that made me stop, take notice and google her.  It turns out she’s not yet signed to any label (merely a matter of time) and she’s working on a record with Timo Räisänen in London at the moment.  She’s got a voice that comes from somewhere else that reminds me a lot of the young Bjork, and she likes write power pop that could be Wannadies crossed with a bit of Katrina and the Waves.  She also isn’t afraid to to turn up the spikey guitars and really belt it out.  If she can follow through on the promise of the initial songs she’s recorded it’ll be one hell of a record. 

mp3: Ida Maria – Oh My God
mp3: Ida Maria – Louie
mp3: Ida Maria – Queen of the World
myspace: Ida Maria

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] brings me to Ida Maria, who I’ve gushed over before, but she’s actually releasing  something you can buy.  Oh My God is her first proper […]

  2. Ida M is a truly uninspiring, cliche artist and loudmouf. Makes me wanna dig up Janis J****n. Which makes me wanna die in the first place.

  3. She’s Norwegian. Not Swedish.

    • Yeah, I can’t believe my editor missed that. My apologies to Norwegians everywhere, I know you are a proud people!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.