You Can Go Back

October 16, 2007 at 7:41 am | Posted in College Radio, Nostalgia, U92 | 6 Comments

Me on the air.  Happy 25th!
My College radio station u92 turns 25 this year, and this past weekend was the birthday party. So I made the trip back to Morgantown, WV for the birthday/reunion weekend. U92 is an excellent college radio station that not only plays cool music, but it’s sports, news, promotions, production and specialty shows are great as well.  I think probably most of us that worked there didn’t go on to radio/entertainment jobs, but those that did have been successful because what they learned at U92.  The rest of us are music obsessed geeks and misfits or just regular people with a thing for radio. And those of us that fall into that category, even learned a few things doing college radio. 

So it was a blast to see old friends, party it up, bowl a few games, see some bands, and get back on the air.  It was like I never left, and it went by way too fast.  Air-shifts were short, to get as many of us on a possible. So I had an hour to reminisce on the air, by playing old favorites.  Here’s the playlist from my shift:

Nick Lowe – So It Goes
Railway Children – A Gentle Sound
Sebadoh – The Freed Pig
Ian Dury and the Blockheads – Reasons to be Cheerful, pt. 3
Kirsty MaColl – The End of a Perfect Day
Stereolab – The Seeming and the Meaning
The Saints – I’m Stranded
The Fall – I’m Into CB
Cud – Sometimes Rightly, Sometimes Wrongly
John Cooper Clark – I Don’t Wanna be Nice
Camper Van Beethoven – Take the Skinheads Bowling
Wedding Present – Suck
Brian Eno – Burning Airlines Give You So Much More
Prefab Sprout – Lions In My Own Garden (Exit Someone)
The Swirlies – Chris R

You don’t have to take my word for it about how great u92 is.  The folks at CMJ have nominated if for CMJ Station of the Year this year.  It’s up against some heavy hitters including Seattle’s KEXP.  Since it is an award for College Radion Station of the year, it would be great if a real college radion station won the award.  If you’re attending CMJ this year you can vote for WWVU!

mp3The Chameleons – Nostalgia 

Thanks to Bill for the photo.  Bill also did a shift, which you can check out the details of over at his blob Sound Bites.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. so why is it that I know more off of bill’s play list than yours. . .man i really did miss out on music in my 20s. I blame ohio.

  2. It should also be said that Toby was bowling a perfect game and had to “walk away” in the middle of it to do his air shift.

    And I just got back from voting for U92 at the CMJ convention center.

  3. AJ, I wasn’t trying to be obscure. I grew up in Ohio, you should blame Virginia.

  4. Go U92! We find out who wins the CMJ award today!

  5. let me clairify, First. . It’s not you, it’s me. and i blame “my time” at ohio state and the kids i got mixed up with. I still feel real internal pains everytime I overhear a steve miller song. .There’s a reason you didn’t go to columbus. . .and I’m very thankful. . .

  6. Thank you for posting something by The Chameleons. They are/were one of our great, lost bands. Coming from Manchester as I do, I’ve always had a soft spot for them as a “local band” and I’ve seen them live at least a dozen times, from the early 80s through to the “reunion” gigs in 2000.

    The first two albums in particular (“Script of the Bridge” and “What Does Anything Mean, Basically”) are both excellent examples of riff-driven, indie rock. Think early Cure, or maybe the first Echo & The Bunnymen album. For the guitarists among us, there are layers of tunes just dripping out of the speakers. There’s lots of early 80s reverb, chorus pedals and echo units going on, giving you the most fluid and beautiful guitar sounds you’ve heard in ages.

    They never really bothered the charts much after their first single (“In Shreds”) but they had critical acclaim in spadefuls to make up for the lack of commercial success.

    Thanks for reminding me of all this!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.