Hey Mike Cox, I’ve Got Your CD’s

September 24, 2008 at 8:49 pm | Posted in Cleveland, mp3, Music, Nostalgia, randomness, Seattle | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,


Aurora Bridge photo from Sean2112’s flickr

On Sunday I was in Silver Platters down in Lower Queen Anne perusing the used cds. I ended up with a handful cds including Ian Hunter‘s You’re Never Alone with a Schizophrenic, Toots and Maytals‘ Reggae Greats, and the Young Fresh Fellows‘ The Men who Loved Music. When I got home and took a look at them, I noticed they all had been signed by Mike Cox, who must have been their previous owner. Apparently Mike and I have quite similar random taste in music, or quite the opposite since these were all in the used bin. I can only hope that they weren’t stolen from him and sold. If that’s the case Mike and you’re reading this, leave a comment and I’ll give them back to you.

I suppose an explanation is in order as to why I would buy such a random assortment of music.  This blog tends to lean toward obscure indie universe, but I do listen to other stuff.   I’ll start in comfortable territory with Seattle’s Young Fresh Fellows.  I first became aware of the Young Fresh Fellows when I got to university, where their song Amy Grant got a lot of play at my college radio station. I should also mention that I’ve seen Amy Grant in concert. Why on earth you ask? It was one of my many jobs in college to work as an usher for events at the WVU coliseum and one of those events was Amy Grant. So yeah , I got paid to see Amy Grant. I was happy to find this disk on Sunday.  These songs are still funny after all these years, and not the song Aurora Bridge has much more context for me living in Seattle.

mp3: Young Fresh Fellows – Amy Grant

mp3: Young Fresh Fellows – Aurora Bridge


Veteran’s Memorial Bridge photo from rtompstyle’s flickr

As a kid growing up in a small town outside of Cleveland, Oh I did a lot of hanging out. A lot of my time was spent next door with my older cousin Jeff. He was seven years older than me, but didn’t seem to mind me and my friend Jack being around. Jeff was a skater who also had a pretty voracious appetite for music. If I can look back and identify a beginning to my music obsession it would probably start with my cousin.
When you skate, you have to have music and the music was never the same. He listened to everything from Van Halen to Prince to the Germs, to Agent Orange to Wasted Youth to Ian Hunter. I was nine when this came out but remember Cleveland Rocks quite well, hell it was constantly played on Cleveland radio station, WMMS. It was later covered by Seattle band the Presidents of the USA and used as the theme for the Drew Carry show. Yeah it’s probably played out, but the rest of Ian Hunter’s Schizophrenic album is just as good. He’s joined on it by Mick Ronson and John Cale as well as a bunch of E Street band. Second song Big East sounds like it could have been a Springsteen song, but a lot of the record has a Bowie feel to it. Although Barry Manilow did not appear on the the record, he did later cover the song Ships from it, taking it into the singles charts.

mp3: Ian Hunter – Cleveland Rocks

mp3: Ian Hunter – Just Another Night


Jamaican bridge photo from tell me about your mother’s flickr

I don’t have a story about Toots and the Maytals, like a lot of post punk fans, I was introduced to Toots and the Maytals by the Specials covering Monkey Man. I picked this up because it was playing at the store. It was that random, but maybe not so random since one Mr. Cox had previously owned this cd as well.  Reggae Greats is a good collection of the some of Toots and Maytals better known songs.  It must have been some extraneous force guided my mind and body over to the reggae section to pluck this cd from the bin. So no need to worry Mr. Cox, your cd’s have found a good home.

mp3: Toots and the Maytals – Monkey Man

mp3: Toots and the Maytals – 54-46 (That’s My Number)

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.