It’s Magic

March 24, 2009 at 2:03 pm | Posted in Magic, mp3, Music | 2 Comments
Tags: ,

magic kids
Photo from Magic Kids’ myspace
I’ve been couch ridden for the past few days with some kind of flu, virus, or whatever the sickness du jour is, feeling miserable watching too much CNN and old movies (Double Indemnity for the 20th time, but I also finally saw Alfie after all these years). I’m still sick, but after hearing this new song from the Magic Kids I feel better than I have in days, and I know it’s not the drugs because I haven’t taken any!

It all starts with a girl chorus sounding like the Free Design and then with a drum roll it turns into the  Beach Boys vs Phil Spector with horns, harmonies and strings.  The Magic Kids have gone and created a tiny teenage symphony to god and a beauty of a song. This is probably one of the best things I’ve heard all year, because all of these noise, garage, reverb bands are starting to wear a little bit thin on my ears. Hey Boy is  not really ground breaking, but it’s great song recorded with a sense of history that from the looks of these kids is well beyond their years.  They’re from Memphis and apparently signed up with Goner, so hopefully we’ll be seeing this and more from them on some good old fashioned vinyl and the more modern cd.   The kids these days do not cease to amaze me.

mp3: Magic Kids – Hey Boy

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love this cut. I can’t wait until more is released by them. Thank you for making this band known.

    -Brandon

  2. Wow. I can’t get enough. What a great tune.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.