My Record Player is a Wave

March 29, 2009 at 9:38 pm | Posted in 7 inch, mp3, Vinyl | 4 Comments
Tags: ,

Love Is a Wave

This is probably going to sound stupid, but I find it umm, not really that stupid at all.  I’ve had the new Crystal Stilts single as an mp3 for a couple weeks now and had been listing to it on the old i-pod and computer.  This past weekend, I picked up the actual vinyl and I’m now officially blown away by this new single.  There’s something about hearing it from the needle on the record that makes it sound way better than it ever sounded as an mp3.    I am not by any stretch of the imagination an audiophile, I have never had a high end stereo or expensive turntable.  But I will admit, one of my favorite things in the world is to hang out and just play records, to myself,  to friends, or to anyone who will listen for that matter.  Am I crazy? Has this happened to you where you find a song or record sounds totally different through a stereo than through a pair of lousy headphones? It’s happened to me and now I’ll be carrying my record player, receiver and speakers with me on my commute to work.  Not sure why I’m posting this, come on over to my house and I’ll play it for you on my stereo.

mp3: Crystal Stilts – Love Is A Wave (buy the damn record!)

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Good news, Toby!

    Let me first say, I’m glad you love the new Crystal Stilts single.

    Crystal Stilts will be playing Rainydawg Radio’s Birthday show on April 24th with Wavves and Idle Times! I’ll send you a press release when it’s fully composed, I hope to see you there!

    -Omar

  2. you’re not crazy at all. mp3s are compressed, shitty-sounding approximations of music usually listened to on even lousier earbuds or computer speakers. even the most modest home stereo spinning a real record (or, gasp, cd) will sound better and allow you to connect with the music much more fully.

    i do have some audiophile tendencies, and i wouldn’t presume to know about *how* exactly you listen to mp3s, but it’s impossible to dispute how flat and plain AWFUL they sound in general. it’s frightening to me that there are generations coming up who will never really know what music can sound and *feel* like because all they listen to is lossy files.

    anyway, glad yr digging the 7″. that’s what we make them!

    • Unfortunately, it seems like I listen to more and more music on an ipod, not by choice, but convenience. In the immortal words of Jello Biafra, give me convenience or give me death!

  3. i agree with mike. you’re not crazy. i’m relatively new to the vinyl sphere (christmas 2007), and playing records is one of my favorite things to do in the world.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.