The Difficult Third Basementcast

April 15, 2009 at 8:36 pm | Posted in Basementcast, Music, Podcasts | 6 Comments

overmodulation

This is basementcast number three, but I’m still working out the kinks.  For some reason everything seems a bit overmodulated, especially me.  But, I guess I always was a loud talker.  A big thanks to my kid sister and her husband who got me the new microphone for my birthday.  They must have been listening and took pity.  I’m still figuring it out, but it makes it a whole lot more fun talking into a real mic.  As for the music, there’s tons of good stuff coming out every week, especially 7 inch single these days.  I try to cover a bunch of them, but somehow still left out a bunch like the Fresh and Onlys, The Pink Noise and Happy Burger to name only a few.  I guess you can’t play everything, and there’s always next month.

basementcast: download

Track list:
Manhattan Love Suicides – Superboy & Super Girl
Help Stamp Out Loneliness – Torvill & Dean
Sad Day for Puppets – Little Light
Woods – To Clean
Chad VanGaalen – Bones of Man
Green Pajamas – The Lonesome End Of The Lake
Arthur & Yu – Don’t Piss Into the Fire
Velocette – Bitterscene
Frederick Knight – I’ve Been Lonely For So Long
Pop Art Toasters – Baby What Am I Gonna Do?
Magic Kids – Hey Boy
Sea Lions – Let’s Groove
Dick Dale – Let’s Go Trippin’
Real Estate – Old Folks
Moles – Bury Me Happy
Brilliant Colors – Should I Tell You
Vibrarians – Red Light
Graffiti Island – Wolf Guy
No Bunny – Boneyard
Crystal Stilts – Love is a Wave
Felt – The Day the Rain Came Down
Abe Vigoda – Wild Heart
Love Boat – Frankie Shampoo
Nerves – Paper Doll
Pooh Sticks – I Know Someone Who Knows Someone Who Knows Alan McGee Quite Well
Jeffrey Novak – Hello Hello

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I was hoping you’d play some of those Hozac Hookup singles. But no argument with your selections. Let’s hear it for the Q1U!

  2. Oh yeah, I forgot about those too. There is just way too much good stuff. Each one of these things gets a little longer and I still can’t fit it all in.

  3. Excellent!

  4. nice! that frederick knight is an all-time favorite, and that brilliant colors single is mighty snazzy.

  5. abe vigoda – great character actor noted for being in Barney Miller (great 70’s sitcom about life in a police station) as Sgt Fish. A fantastic role. Most people would recognize him from his role in The Godfather as one of the main mafia dudes.

  6. thanks toby, i discovered so many bands from your blog. Great stuff


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.