Getting Ready for Flu Season

October 13, 2010 at 9:52 pm | Posted in Music, Serendipity | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , ,

I got my flu shot today, so I’m feeling pretty invincible. The only thing that could infect me would be the following five songs which have been on repeat in this order throughout my day.  Not sure how this short play list came to fruition. I just live in the moment and don’t question higher powers.

Seattle’s Brent Amaker and the Rodeo have make a good case for doing an entire album of Kraftwerk covers with their version of Pocket Calculator.  This song is not on their new album Please Stand By that comes out next week,but they might play it at the Crocodile next Thursday for their record release party.  The only thing better than listening to this cover on my computer with headphones would be listening to this cover at the Crocodile while scantily clad girls wearing pasties dancing around on stage with Mr. Amaker and the Rodeo, which I’m sure is bound to happen.

mp3: Brent Amaker and the Rodeo – Pocket Calculator
The new album from Brent Amaker and the Rodeo Please Stand By is out next week on Sparkle and Shine.


Hailing from somewhere up in the great white northern Canadian province of Alberta, Myelin Sheaths finally answer Mudhoney‘s Touch Me I’m Sick with a blast of rock that is part Cave Weddings and part White Wires.  What is their answer?  “I’m not afraid of getting sick!” The boy-girl vocals are totally contagious.  I think I’m sick.

mp3: Myelin Sheaths – Everything Is Contagious
You can pre-order Myelin Sheaths self-titled debut from Southpaw.

I won’t go into how Weekend are from San Francisco and have named their album Sports, but I will say that End Times which first appeared on a split single with like-minded Frisconians Young Prisms on the Transparent label is a blissed out wall of sound that reminds me of Slumberland veterans Lorelei.  Well, what do ya know, Weekend’s debut album is due on Slumberland next month!

mp3: Weekend – End Times
Weekend’s double debut LP Sports comes out November 9 on Slumberland.

When I saw Tyvek a few weeks back here in Seattle I remarked to myself how much they reminded me of Wire.  The teaser song from their In The Red debut does absolutely nothing to dispute that assertion.  What we have here is ex-lion tamers hoisting the pink flag and succeeding.

mp3: Tyvek – 4312
Tyvek’s second album Nothing Fits can be orderd direct from In the Red.

Many have attempted to ape the My Bloody Valentine sound, but few can get it right and write a pop song at the same time. Austin’s Ringo Deathstarr may have done just that.  The first song from their debut record which isn’t due until early next year sounds like it was directly influenced by Isn’t Anything.  While you wait for next year, you can listen to Imagine Hearts and  you can track down Sparkler the Japanese only CD that compiles most of there EP’s and singles to date.  You won’t be disappointed doing one or both.

mp3: Ringo Deathstarr – Imagine Hearts
No news on who’s putting out Ringo Deathstarr’s Colour Trip. Head over to RCRDLBL for UK tour dates.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. The Ringo Deathstarr album will be out in the USA and Canada on March 8th on Sonic Unyon Records. We will be officially announcing it next week.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.