You’ll Be the Death of Me

August 17, 2011 at 9:24 pm | Posted in 7 inch, Music, Singles, Vinyl | 3 Comments
Tags: , , ,

UK Band Evans the Death (Named after the undertaker in Dylan Thomas’s Milk Wood) sound like the bionic version of the Primitives: bigger, stronger, faster. Their debut single came out last month on Fortna POP! It’s a double A-Side, something that usually leaves me scratching my head because nine times out of ten one of the songs is clearly B-Side material.  No such problem with this record. Threads has a deadpan vocal from singer Katherine Whitaker over a taught and twisting guitar. Whitaker sings, “You put the fear of God in me, Why did I watch that documentary?”  Reminds me of when I was a kid and I stayed up late with my friends at a sleep over and watched Faces of Death. The other A-side I’m So Unclean starts off with rattling bass and crashing guitars is slightly less intense (if you can believe that) but just as good. When Whitaker sings, “When I’m watching the shopping channel, I will think of you.” Evans the Death evoke the Smiths. This is a great debut single and worthy of its double A-side status and the gold that it’s pressed on. Looking forward to a full length.

stream: Evans the Death – Threads (head over to Fortuna POP! to download and purchase the single)

In other Fortuna POP! news, you may have heard that Comet Gain have a new album out called Howl of the Lonely Crowd. It’s been out over in the UK courtesy of Fortuna POP! for a couple months and will get released next month in the US by What’s Your Rupture so keep your eyes peeled. Howl was produced by Edwyn Collins and is an instant classic. If you are a Comet Gain fan you will likely want to snatch up the 7-inch single for An Arcade From The Warm Rain That Falls. It’s limited to 500 copies and contains two exclusive B-sides, a cover of Carla Thomas’s northern soul classic I Take It To My Baby and album outtake You’re Just Lonely.

mp3: Comet Gain – An Arcade From The Warm Rain That Falls (from the single on Fortuna POP!)

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Have you listened to the Comet Gain record?
    -Nathan (austintownhall)

    • Hey Nathan,
      I’ve listened to it a bunch. It could be my favorite Comet Gain album yet. It’s got a polish to it that helps the songs really stand out, but it’s not too polished so everything retains that gritty realness that made me love Comet Gain to begin with. What do you think of it?

  2. I agree about the polish; I feel like it does highlight some attributes that fall down below the mix, but I feel like there might be too much polish at times. That grittiness, from City Fallen Leaves per se, is one of the reasons I loved them. But, I still think it’s one of the strongest releases they’ve put together.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.