It’s February Already, What Happened?

February 8, 2017 at 10:20 pm | Posted in Music, Records | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

I must admit, I’ve been distracted of late. I’m sure you all have been as well to some extent. Sometimes you just can’t bring yourself to write about this great new song you’ve heard, because you realize how unimportant it is in the grand scheme of things. That doesn’t mean I don’t save them up, and it doesn’t mean that I have stopped listening to music. If anything I’ve listened to more music lately. It’s a distraction and provides escape, hope and pleasure. So here are a couple handfuls of records that have gotten me through the first month of 2017.

In the it came out in December, who releases a record in December category.

Uranium Club

Minneapolis smart ass punks released album number two at the end of 2016. Minutemen/Firehose genius combined with Devo hyperactive geekiness. Too weird to be cool for some but right up my alley.

In the I totally missed it category

Quantic & Flowering Inferno ft Hollie Cook

Hollie Cook has album number three on the docket for this year, but at the tail end of last year the brogues hipped me to this little number she did with Quantic & Flowering Inferno. So good!

Gurr

The album In My Head by this Berlin duo was on a few best of lists and for good reason. Great indie pop that reminds me a little of the Blake Babies and the Breeders.

In the 7-inch single is not dead and they even sell out category
Field Route

We are only one month in and Field Route have already released one of the best 7″ singles. Bring it on!

Creation Factory

Another classic sounding 7″. Yeah I know the 45 is on its deathbed, but quality over quantity is the rule of the day. I think both of these records are sold out, but each can be purchased as a download.

In the who releases a record this good in January category

Rose Elinor Dougall – Stellular

Former Pipette took six years to follow up her solo debut, but it is worth the wait.  It’s swirling blend of the Horrors, Goldfrapp and Siouxsie and the Banshees. Rose doesn’t look very goth, but she certainly leans in that direction ever so slightly.

Priests – Nothing Feels Natural

This record has two personas. The A-side is funk-punk that is a cross of Pylon and the Big Boys, the B-side is the post punk cool down that gets moody and melodic. Thankfully the band put an Interlude to divide things up for those of us who can’t always be in front of our turntables.

Proper Ornaments – Foxhole

Album number two from this trippy Velvet/Chills loving band. Not sure they’ve ever surpassed that first EP, but I love to hear them keep trying.

In the genre bending category

Group Doeh & Cheveu – Dakhla Sahara Session
French punk weirdos Cheveu team up with Western Sahara guitarslingers Group Doueh in an unlikely match. It’s crazy and out there and one of the best records I’ve heard this year.

In the buried treasure gets reissued category

workshy

Animals that Swim

Back in the day when you had to read about records and decode whether or not it was something you might want to spend money, I read a review of Animals That Swim debut album and decided to take a leap. I instantly fell in love with their quirky little songs that painted imaculate pictures in my head about the downtrodden, mundane and odd things in life. Pink Carnations, Madam Yvonde, How to Make a Chandalier are all essential. With this reissue you get the original album as well as genius b-sides and unreleased tracks to boot.

I think they might have finally broken the US as you can buy a copy of this reissue from Target, though I’m not sure I’d recommend it.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Great overview. I didnt know Animals that Swim. Now I love every song of this record. Thanks for this one. 🙂

    2017 delivers a lot of great new records. Especially the new Proper Ornaments is really fantastic. What do you think about the new albums of The Courtneys and Dag? In my opinion they deserve to come in “the who releases a record this good in February category”. What do you think?

    • Animals that Swim second album I was the King is just as good. Worth giving a listen if you like Workshy!

      I like the Courtneys new one. Still waiting for my Dag record to arrive in the post, but I like what I’ve heard.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.